You are here: Home > Boards & Commissions List > College Savings Account Program Committee

College Savings Account Program Committee

Cuyahoga County Administrative Headquarters
2079 East 9th Street
Cleveland, Ohio 44115

Telephone: 216-698-2092
FAX: (216) 443-3052

The College Savings Account Program Committee advises and supports the Cuyahoga County College Savings Account (CSA) Program. The CSA Program establishes the expectation that all County children will attend college or other form of advanced education by seeding accounts with $100 in the name of all County children entering kindergarten each fall,beginning with the fall of 2013. The Committee will provide fundraising support as well as advice on banking, education, and financial literacy to the program staff. The Committee will also rule on appeals from decisions by the Administration on eligibility and qualified use of funds.

The twelve‐member committee shall consist of members representing various County schools, the business and foundation communities as well as parents and other community stake holders. County Council and the Administration have the ability to appoint two members each, one of which must be a parent of a student within the County. While there are no specific qualifications for the appointed members of the College Savings Account Program Committee, the County seeks members with experience in non‐profit governance, financial literacy of education. The successful candidates will have a passion for improving the post‐secondary education outcomes for Cuyahoga County residents. The four appointees shall serve a four‐year term. They are not compensated for their service but may be reimbursed for expenses.

Committee Membership

  • The CEO of the banking partner or designee;
  • The CEO of the Educational Services Center of Cuyahoga County or designee;
  • The CEO of the Cleveland Metropolitan School District or designee;
  • The President of the Greater Cleveland School Superintendents’ Association or designee;
  • Superintendent of the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland or designee;
  • The CEO of the Greater Cleveland Partnership or designee;
  • A representative of a higher education institution located within Cuyahoga County, selected by the Administration;
  • A member of the foundation and non‐profit community, selected by the Administration;
  • Both Council and the Administration shall appoint two additional members each. One appointee from each body must be a parent of a student residing in Cuyahoga County. These four appointees shall serve a four‐year term commencing on June 1st, and shall not serve beyond their four‐year terms unless reappointed.

Each vacancy in membership shall be filled in the same manner it was originally filled.

Appointing Authority  Length of Term 
Cuyahoga County Executive and confirmed by County Council  4 members  shall serve at the pleasure of their appointing authority for 4 years.

Public Meeting:
A meeting is held quarterly and other meetings are scheduled.

Cuyahoga County Charter
Section 11.01-11.04


Ken Surratt
Special Assistant to the County Executive
1219 Ontario Street, 4th Floor
Cleveland, Ohio 44113
Office: (216) 698-2092
Cell: (216) 767-9325
Fax: (216) 443-3052

View by Year